Special Offer

Try Betterteam

Post your jobs to 100+ job boards

Post a Job
  • Reach over 250 million candidates.
  • Get candidates in hours, not days.

Only businesses with a certain number of employees and who meet certain criteria mandated by the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) are required to file the EEO 1 report. To date, there are 10 EEO categories into which employees can be classified.

EEO Job Categories:

1. Executive or Senior Level Officials and Managers

Also known as C-level management, this category refers to senior members within an organization who plan, strategize, direct, and formulate policies. These individuals typically report to the board of directors.


2. First/Mid Level Officials and Managers

These individuals fall under the group, regional or divisional level of the organization. They implement plans and strategies devised by those in the EEO 1 category.


3. Professionals

Individuals in this category typically require a tertiary qualification or certification, such as a bachelor's degree, in order to do their jobs.


4. Technicians

This category includes employees who require scientific and/or technical skills to perform their jobs, such as those acquired through vocational degrees.


5. Sales Workers

Sales workers include all employees whose primary function is to sell products or services.


6. Administrative Support Workers

These individuals are found in office settings and are responsible for clerical functions such as answering the telephone, filing, typing, or doing payroll.


7. Craft Workers

This category includes trained employees with a specific skill set that allows them to do certain jobs.


8. Operatives

Operatives are semi-skilled employees who require minimal training to perform their jobs.


9. Laborers and Helpers

This category includes unskilled workers who perform mostly manual labor and only need some training.


10. Service Workers

Service workers include employees in the service sector who perform a variety of service-related or protective jobs.



What is considered an EEO establishment?

An EEO establishment has one physical address and is engaged in one type of economic activity.

What is an EEO 1 category?

The EEO 1 category includes executive/senior-level officials and managers such as CEOs, COOs, etc.

What are the EEOC job categories?

The EEOC job categories are 10 categories into which employees are classified on the EEO 1 report.

What job category does professionals fall under?

Professionals – workers who require a tertiary qualification to do their jobs – fall under job category 3.

What category does workers in the service sector fall under?

Service workers fall under job category 10.

Related Articles:

What is EEOC Compliance?

Definition, how to comply, and FAQs.

Exempt vs. Nonexempt Employees

Understanding the difference between exempt and nonexempt employees.

Benefits of Diversity in the Workplace

Learn more about the benefits of diversity in the workplace.

Equal Opportunity Employer Statement

Create an equal opportunity employer statement with our downloadable template.

At-Will Employment

Complete Guide with State Information and Definition